Showing posts with label Photoshop tutorial. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Photoshop tutorial. Show all posts

Photoshop Shortcuts

Working with Photoshop isn't that easy for both beginners and advanced users. There are times when applying a simple effect to your image can be so much time consuming. What follows is a list of often used(and much abused tools) tools and their shorcuts to make working with them second nature-we don't want to handle our tools clumsily while unleashing our creativity, do we?

  1. H (Hand Tool) — When zoomed in to a portion of your photo, this command brings up the hand tool which allows quick panning.
  2. B (Brush tool) — The brush is an extremely useful tool when working with masks, and I’m constantly using this command along with the hand and zoom tools.
  3. Sift + B (Cycle through Brush tools)- Use this shortcut to bring up a list of other tools in brushes palette.
  4. Z (Zoom Tool) — This command brings up the zoom tool, which allows you to zoom in.
  5. Ctrl + 0 (Fit to Screen) — This is a command to get the entire photo in front of your eyes.
  6. Ctrl + Z (Undo) — Very useful for going back one step...umm, mistake.
  7. [ (Decrease Brush Size) — Decrease your brush size to get into tighter spots.
  8. ] (Increase Brush Size) — Increase your brush size for the larger spots.
  9. Shift + [ (Decrease Brush Softness) — Decrease the softness of the brush by 25%.
  10. Shift + ] (Increase Brush Softness) — Increase the softness of the brush by 25%.
  11. Tab (Hide/Show Palettes) —With this you can show or hide your all palettes and take a quick look only on your picture
  12. 1->0 (Tool Opacity) — Pressing any number from 1 to 0 gives tool opacity from 10% to 100%.
  13. Shift + 1->0 (Tool Flow) — This works the same like the opacity changer, but you have to hold the "Shift key" while you hit the numbers.
  14. Ctrl + Tab (Next Point on Curves Adjustment) — you can place multiple points on the curve and adjust them accordingly when using the curves adjustment dialog. Use this command to switch focus from point to point without moving them around.
  15. Right click (Brush Presets) — Right click on the image to bring up a list of brush Presets
  16. E (Eraser tool) — Brings up the eraser tool.
  17. Shift + E (Cycle through other tools in this group) Use this to Cycle through other tools in Eraser tools group this group.
  18. R (Blur tool) — Brigs up the blur tool
  19. Shift + R — Use it to cycle through other tools in blur tools group.
  20. O (Dodge tool) — Brings up the dodge tool.
  21. Shit + 0 — Use this to cycle through other tools in dodge tools group.
  22. T (Type tool) — Brings up the type tool.
  23. V (Move tool) — Use this to move layers around in an image.
  24. C (Crop tool) — Brings up the crop tool.
  25. N (Notes tools) — Brings up the notes tool.
  26. W (Magic wand tool) — Brings up the magic wand tool
  27. M (Marque tool) — Brings up the marque tool.
  28. Ctrl + Shift + O - Photoshop's File Browser
  29. Ctrl + Shift + P - Page Setup Dialogue Box
  30. Ctrl + Shift + S - Save As Dialogue Box
  31. Ctrl + Shift + K - Color Setting Preferences Box
  32. Ctrl + Shift + F - Fade Dialogue Box
  33. Ctrl + Shift + X - Liquify Filter Tool
  34. Ctrl + Shift + N - Create New Layer Preferences Box
  35. Ctrl + Shift + M - Launches ImageReady
  36. Ctrl + Shift + E - Merges all layers into a single layer
  37. Ctrl + Alt + Z - Step Backward
  38. Ctrl + Shift + - (Minus Sign Key) - Zoom Out
  39. Ctrl + Shift + + (Plus Sign Key) - Zoom In
  40. Ctrl + Shift + Alt + N - Creates a new empty layer
  41. Ctrl + Shift + Alt + S - Save For The Web Dialogue
  42. Ctrl + Alt (in most Dialogue Boxes) - Changes the 'Cancel' command to 'Reset'
  43. Ctrl + Alt (in the 'Save For Web Dialogue') - Changes the 'Cancel' command to 'Reset' & the 'Done' command to 'Remember'
  44. Ctrl + Alt + ~(Tild Symbol) - Selects the brightest area of the currently selected layer
  45. Ctrl + Shift + I - Inverts a selection
  46. Ctrl + Alt + X - Extract
  47. Shift + -/+ signs(on a layer) - Toggles the different layer modes
  48. Shift + Ctrl + Z - Step Forward
  49. Ctrl + N - New Document Dialogue Box
  50. Ctrl + M - Curves Dialogue Box
  51. Ctrl + A - Selects all in the currently foreground document or currently selected layer
  52. Ctrl + D - Deselects all in the currently foreground document or currently selected layer
  53. Ctrl + J - Automatically creates a duplicate of the currently selected layer
  54. Ctrl + K - Preferences Dialogue Box
  55. Ctrl + L - Levels Dialogue Box
  56. Ctrl + F4 - Closes current document
  57. Ctrl + ' (Single Quote Key) - Toggles Grid Lines
  58. Ctrl + Q - Quits Photoshop altogether
  59. Ctrl + R - Toggles Rulers
  60. Ctrl + U - Hue/Saturation Dialogue Box
  61. Ctrl + O - Opens New File
  62. Ctrl + P - Print Dialogue Box
  63. Ctrl + Z - Undo last Action
  64. Ctrl + Tab - Toggle between open documents
  65. Ctrl + Shift + C - Copy Merged
  66. Ctrl + C - Copy
  67. Ctrl + H - Toggle Extras
  68. Ctrl + ; - Toggle Guides
  69. Ctrl + Shift + ; - Toggle Snap
  70. Ctrl + X - Cut
  71. Ctrl + Alt + Shift + X - Pattern Maker
  72. Ctrl + V - Paste
  73. Ctrl + Shift + V - Paste into selection
  74. Ctrl + Alt + Shift + V - Paste Outside
  75. Ctrl + T - Transform Tool
  76. Ctrl + Shift + T - Repeats the last performed Transform
  77. Shift + F5 / Shift + Backspace (Key) - Fill Layer Dialogue Box
  78. f1 - Toggles Adobe Online Help
  79. f5 - Toggles Brush style palette
  80. f6 - Toggles Colour, Swatches, Styles palette
  81. f7 - Toggles Layers, Channels, Paths palette
  82. f8 - Toggles Navigator, Info palette
  83. f9 - Toggles Actions, History, Presets palette
  84. Shift + Tab (Key) - Toggles palettes on screen, excluding the Toolbar.
  85. Ctrl + Alt + Shift + E -Stamp Visible
  86. Ctrl + Alt + Shift + K -Show Keyboard Commands

Read more >>>

Put a Logo on a Shirt




Step 1:
Here's a great shot of a young man in a white t-shirt-- let's put a logo on his shirt, and turn on Photoshop's power with the Wacom pen to make the logo ripple with his shirt.



Step 2:
Create a layer above the t-shirt by tapping on the Layer icon-- we'll paint in this layer with the airbrush to create our distortion graphic.

Fill the layer with 50% gray-- this will be our designated "neutral" for the distortion.



Step 3:
Let's get Photoshop's airbrush tool set-- go to the Brush Dynamics icon at the top of your screen (or in the Options palette for those of you who are pre-6), and set to to Pressure: Stylus. Set the layer for 75% opacity-- that way you can see Tee Shirt Boy underneath.


Step 4:
Paint in your layer with black-- try to match the darker areas of the underlying image. The Wacom pen's pressure sensitivity lets you get as much or as little black as you want, merely by changing how hard you press.



Step 5:
Now paint in the white highlights-- go ahead and change the opacity up to 100% if you're curious how the layer looks. Don't worry about getting too exact-- here, close is good enough. Copy and paste the gray layer into a new document and save it as a grayscale image-- this is your distortion image.



Step 6:
Place the logo right in the front of the shirt. Go to Filter-- Distort-- Displace, and set your H and V scale to whatever you think sounds good (be prepared to experiment a bit here). Select the distortion image you just created, and hit Open.



Step 7:
You'll see a weird distortion effect-- change the layer mode to Hard Light and lower the opacity a bit.



Step 8:
Burn and dodge the logo layer for a little added three-dimensional touch, and there you go

Read more >>>
Categories: ,

Radical Car Body Painting

This tutorial deals with a unique method of changing the color of a car... call it body painting

Unlike traditional ways of changing a vehicle's body colour, this technique uses layer mask and various blending modes to preserve reflections making it extremely difficult for others to figure out if the image was digitally edited.

1. Open the image for editing, suppose:


2. Add a new "Hue/Saturation" adjustment layer (Layer> New Adjustment Layer> Hue/Saturation) and set the "Saturation" to "-100". Click OK.


3. Create a new layer as the top layer and fill it with the new colour of the car.


4. Set the current layer's blending mode to "Multiply" and add a layer mask (Layer> Add Layer Mask> Reveal All).


5. With the current layer's layer mask selected, use the eraser tool to erase the areas around the body of the car.


6. With the Hue/Saturation adjustment layer's layer mask selected, use the "Apply Image" tool (Image> Apply Image) to apply the following properties:

Source: filename
Layer: Layer 1
Channel: Layer Mask

Blending: Multiply
Opacity: 100%

Click OK.


7. Duplicate the top layer (Ctrl+J), set its blending mode to "Screen" and invert the layer (Ctrl+I).


8. Make a layer of the current layer's layer mask (Ctrl+Click on the layer mask). Use the "Apply Image" tool (Image> Apply Image) to apply the following properties:

Source: filename
Layer: Background
Channel: RGB
Invert: Uncheckmarked
Blending: Multiply
Opacity: 100%

Click OK.


9. With the current layer mask selected, use the "Levels" tool (Ctrl+L) and drag the black input slider right until the bleeding edges of the current layer is gone. Make sure that the "Preview" checkbox is checkmarked. Click OK.


10. Compare the this technique to traditional Hue/Saturation techniques. Rollover the image in this step to see the original image before this technique was applied.


Statuatory Warning : This tutorial is a little tough and those with patience & adequate knowledge could sail thru easily

Read more >>>
Categories: ,

Create a duotone picture

Well, It's a duotone pic with an xtra colors! Black, white & any other color.

We have seen black & white photos, we have seen color photos, bothhave their own advantages… B&W photos have more depth, Color photos are more vibrant.

So, I thought why not mix both these worlds & get a tritoneepic…
Didn’t get it… it’s a duotone pic with an xtra color…. Black, white & any other color.

Take a picture, preferably with a dominant color… nature pics are preferred.



Duplicate the layer (Ctrl+J)

Desaturate the new layer (Shift+Ctrl+U)

Go to the “background” layer (the color one), SELECT->COLORRANGE, SAMPLED COLORS, select the primary color (here “tigeryellow”) with the “eyedropper”, take necessary fuzziness.

Now that color is selected, copy it and paste upon the DESATURATED LAYER, making the yellow layer copied as OVERLAY blend.




GAUSSIAN BLUR to about 3 pixels.

Layer via Copy(Ctrl+J) if you want to enhance the color.
You can also Ctrl+J the DESATURATED LAYER in OVERLAY mode to add more contrast

Final adjustments, like levels, noise removal… give the desired result.

We can also make more tones this way

Read more >>>
Categories: ,